The department constitutes highly experienced faculty who have been serving for years. It is one of the oldest department which includes a VTU and Mangalore University recognized research centres. The Chemistry division actively focuses its research activities on material science, synthetic organic chemistry, bio-inorganic chemistry, electrochemistry, batteries, catalysis and polymer nanocomposites. Right now we are focused in the area of photocatalysis particularly waste water treatment, luminescent materials for display applications as well as a labeling agent to enhance latent fingerprints.

Highlights of Research Centers

  • Transfer of a VGST grant of Rs. 60 lakhs to the department is in process under Establishment of Centers of Excellence in Science, Engineering and Medicine (CESEM). Project Entitled “Development of Waste paper and Plastic filled polymer based composites: A waste to wealth approach”.
  • The department research group holds the credit for 8 papers being cited in ACS, chemical review paper with impact factor 37.36.
  • The department faculty members published more than 40 research papers in peer reviewed international journals.
  • One of the faculty holds the credit for publishing paper in peer reviewed journals Applied Catalysis B: Environmental (Impact Factor 9.5), ACS Sustainable Chemistry & Engineering (Impact Factor 5.267) and RSC Advances (Impact Factor 3.289) for the year 2017.

Eligible Guides in the Department:

S.NO NAME OF FACULTY Designation Area of Research
1. Dr. K. S. Anantha Raju Assoc. Professor & Head Material Science
2. Dr. M. Dinamani Assoc. Professor Material Science
3. Dr. P. Adinarayana Reddy Assoc. Professor Bio-Inorganic Chemistry
4. Dr. R. B. Shivasankaraiah Asst. Professor Electrochemistry
5. Dr. K. R. Vishnu Mahesh Asst. Professor Material Science

Ph.D Pursuing Faculties in the Department

Sl No Name of the Faculty Designation Area of Research Registered under University
1 Mrs. D. Sunanda Sel. Gr. Lecturer Natural Products Bharathiar University
2. Mr. M. Sennappan Asst. Professor Bio-Inorganic Chemistry VTU
3. Mrs. S. Malini Asst. Professor Chemical Kinetics VTU
4. Mrs. B. Uma Asst. Professor Lubricating oils VTU
  • An Autonomous Institute Affiliated to VTU, Approved by AICTE & UGC

  • Accredited by NBA & NAAC with 'A' grade.

Contact Info

  • Dayananda Sagar College of Engineering, Shavige Malleshwara Hills, Kumarswamy Layout, Bangalore - 78

  • +91-80-42161750+91-80-42161751
  • This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

We use cookies to improve our website. By continuing to use this website, you are giving consent to cookies being used. More details…